Community Admins


  • Public Access

Welcome to our Network!

If you're new to MyCommunity, here are some things you might not know you can do!

Unlike the old website, as a member of this community you are free to add your own content. You can start or join a discussion, upload pictures or videos, even add things to our calendar.

So log in at the top of this page and hit the blue Join button!

Step Up!

Step up – your local engineering community needs you!

Hopefully over the years you will have been to some IET events in your local area. These events are only possible due to the hard work of dedicated volunteers – but now they need your help. Will you step up?


Download our 2013 / 2014 programme here in PDF format  
Download the presentation slides here in PDF format for our recent Wifi lecture 

Most Recent Blog Posts

Everybody loves free stuff, right? The IET are granting all their members a free knowledge pack every year which enables you to download journals, conference articles and eBook chapters at no cost. The pack will incorporate a collection of five credits which will allow five free downloads from over 400 eBooks, over 1,300 conference publications and... read more...
Posted by Julie Hudson on IET Essex Network Feb 18, 2014 10:59 GMT

Share with the Community ...

Essex colleagues, I'm pleased to extend an invitation to the opening of the following new business and technology centre :

Dear Colleague,

Please find enclosed an invitation to a Welcome Evening at The MedBIC – Anglia Ruskin Business Innovation Centre for Medical and Advanced Engineering. We would be delighted if you could join us in Chelmsford on Monday, 19 May 2014 from 5.30pm to 8.00pm.

As a key entrepreneurial hub for Essex, The MedBIC offers 1,000 sq. metres of purpose-built business accommodation creating a business-facing Centre of Excellence for Medical and Advanced Engineering. Our co-operative workspace and start-up focused programmes will help make entrepreneurial visions a reality; alongside supportive academics, researchers, consultants and clinicians who will assist with prototyping, clinical trials and testing. Our aim is to speed up the route to market for Essex businesses.

For those considering setting up a new business or further developing their existing business, The MedBIC can provide a professional, yet comfortable setting for businesses where entrepreneurs can be nurtured with the support of like-minded individuals. This industry-driven space encourages open innovation and knowledge transfer, offering a new business the space to grow and expand with all the necessary support to ensure success.

We offer a range of membership packages to suit all business needs. Whether they require a private office space, a dedicated desk or the occasional use of a desk away from home, or simply a prestigious business address, we are here to help businesses grow at The MedBIC.

We are looking forward to meeting you and welcoming you to The MedBIC to discuss the benefits we can provide. Please RSVP by Friday 16 May 2014 to or by calling 01245 407404.

Yours sincerely

Aideen McCambridge
Manager – The MedBIC
  • Posted Fri 02 May 2014 12:29 GMT

Log in to post a comment.

Community Activity

Home - Register 2013

Register for your free IET website account .

Community Information

A group who promote science, engineering and technology, encourage people to enter the profession and provide opportunities to share and develop knowledge and network.

Essex Committee

Robert Walker

Philip Ball
Michael Gibson

Jonathan Wentworth
Webmaster and Public Relations representative
David Houssein
IET Community Relationship Manager
David Whale
Schools Liaison Officer

Habtom Mebrahtu
Committee member

Graham Smith
Past Chairman

Christopher Tarry
Committee member

John Williams
Committee member

Roger Smith
Committee member

Dilen Carpanen
Committee member

Vivek Govinda
Committee member
Carlos Jiminez-Bescos
Committee member
Babatunde Omogbai
Committee member